The Board of the Office of Special Prosecutor will be sworn into office today, Tuesday, June 21.

It will be done by Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Godfred Yeboah Dame.

The Office has been without a Board since the mandate of the previous one led by Linda Ofori-Kwarfo expired.

This is nine months after Kissi Agyebeng was officially sworn into office as the Special Prosecutor.

Civil Society Organisations in the country have since lamented the lack of a substantive Board and the impact on the operations of the Special Prosecutor.

Attorney-General to swear in OSP Board today

However, a former Deputy Attorney-General, Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, assured that the Governing Board will be inaugurated soon.

According to sections 5 and 6 of the Office of Special Prosecutor Act 2017, Act 959, a Board is required to formulate policies for the objective of the Office, ensure proper and effective performance of the functions of the Office, advise the Special Prosecutor on the recruitment and selection of various staff among other duties.

The Board is also to consist of the Special Prosecutor, the Deputy Special Prosecutor, one representative each from the Audit Service, the Ghana Police Service, Economic and Organized Crime Office (EOCO), Financial Intelligence Centre, Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ), a person nominated by the Minister for National Security, and one other person who is a female representing the Anti-Corruption Civil Society Organizations.

The previous Board included the then CID Boss, DCOP Maame Yaa Tiwaa Addo-Danquah; EOCO rep, Charles Nana Antwi; representatives from civil society, Linda Ofori Kwafo and Addai Wereko Tawiah; Kofi Wiredu Boakye, Charles Ayamadu and Kwaku Domfeh.