Election Committee member and Secretary of Ghana Music Rights Organisation (GHAMRO), Dzifa Ashinyo says the disqualification of contesting members in its election has raised some agitations.

According to her, the agitations are based on the misunderstanding of a clause of GHAMROs Constitution which stipulates that a member cannot hold office for more than two consecutive times.

She called for the clarification of the constitution from Authorities in order to resolve the agitations by the disqualified members.

“We have written to our superiors at the Attorney Generals Department to interpret that portion for us,” she said.

Responding to a question posed to her by Showbiz’s A to Z host, George Quaye on whether she is suggesting that the members that have been disqualified are contesting the disqualification.

She replied saying “yes that was what we the Election Commission was told but we haven’t gotten any official documentation from them. They have not communicated to us officially but according to the immediate past boss of the Organization, Rex Omar from media houses to media houses saying that people want to take us to Court, it can be a legal action, we will be taken here and there but as far as the Committee is concerned, we have not seen anything like that yet.”

Mrs Ashinyo said with the agitation all over, the Committee has decided to hold on with the GHAMROs election for peace to prevail to prevent anyone from putting an injunction on it since the Organization has no board to prevent its Administration from coming to halt.

Madam Ashinyo said 12 candidates picked the nomination forms for the board election and out of the 12 candidates, six people were disqualified.

From the six disqualified candidates, three did not perform during the vetting whiles the other three were also disqualified on the grounds of the GHAMROs constitution provision.

The six qualified members are: K. K. Kabobo, James Mensah, Kwame Adinkra, Abena Ruth, Akwasi Ernest and Rex Omar.

The other three disqualified on constitution grounds are; Rev. Francis Boahen, Daina Hopeson and Big Ben.