Togbe Afede XIV has been defeated in his quest to be retained as President of the National House of Chiefs.

He lost to the Paramount Chief of Sefwi Anhwiaso Traditional Area, Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi, in a landslide victory of 47 votes against 25.

Paramount Chief of Lawra Traditional Area in the Upper West Region, Naa Puowele Karbo III also won the Vice-Presidential slot with 44 votes, beating competition from Daasebre Kwebu Ewusi VII, Paramount Chief of Abeadze Traditional Area, who had 28 votes.

Seven members were restrained from exercising their franchise due to a court injunction served on the house.

Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II was the immediate past President of the Western Region House of Chiefs.

He was also the Chairman of Governance and Development Committee of the National House of Chiefs until December 2019, when he was removed for publicly criticizing the position of the House against the introduction of partisan politics at the local government level in the lead up to the aborted referendum on the election of MMDCEs.

In his acceptance speech, the President-elect of the National House of Chiefs, Ogyeahohuo Yaw Gyebi said he will work with all members to better serve the nation.