Parliament to resume sitting on Monday

The members of the 7th Parliament are expected to return to the House at 10 am on Monday, December 14.

The legislators are resuming the third meeting of the fourth session of the seventh parliament.

This is under the orders of the Speaker Professor Mike Oquaye “in accordance with Order 6 of the Standing Orders of Parliament.

Parliament had gone on break on November 6 to prepare for the 2020 general elections.

The elections which took place on Monday, December 7, saw the re-election of Nana Akufo-Addo as President.

However, At least 108 current MPs will not be returning to the 8th Parliament.

These MPs including Dr Oko Boye, Yaw Buaben Asamoa, George Andah, Catherine Afeku, Adams Mutawakilu among others lost their seats on election day.

Meanwhile, 40 women have been elected to the 8th Parliament. The NPP holds 20 of the new seats whilst the NDC holds 20.