A health worker takes a swab from a resident to be tested for the COVID-19 coronavirus in Qingdao, in China's eastern Shandong province on October 12, 2020. (Photo by STR / AFP) / China OUT (Photo by STR/AFP via Getty Images)

China says it will “temporarily” ban travelers from Belgium, the UK and the Philippines from entering the country in response to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“Due to the pandemic, it is now announced that people in Belgium will be temporarily stopped from entering China with current valid Chinese visas for work, private affairs, and group residence permits,” the Chinese Embassy in Belgium said in a statement on Wednesday.

The same announcement was made by the Chinese Embassy in the UK on Wednesday and in the Philippines on Thursday — applying to all non-Chinese nationals in both countries.

China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs reiterated Thursday that it is a “temporary measure” based on changes in the pandemic.

“China has referred to the practices of many countries and adjusted its approach to relevant people coming to China based on changes in the pandemic situation. This is reasonable and consistent with international practice, and I believe people can understand it,” foreign ministry spokesman Wang Wenbin said.