A number of distinguished Ghanaian women will be honoured on September 12 at the 2015 edition of the Ghana Women Awards.

The awards ceremony is aimed at celebrating successful women in various facets of the Ghanaian society.

It is designed to unveil outstanding females in the various sectors of the economy who have, and are contributing significantly to the country’s development.

The Ghana Women Awards was instituted in 2009 under the auspices of the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection and has since rewarded several deserving women in society.

The awards, put together by Brein Consult, will come off at the State Banquet Hall in Accra.

The last edition of the event was held at the International Conference Centre on May 30, 2013, where outstanding and distinguished personalities from both public and private sectors of the economy were honoured.

The event’s special guests included Nana Oye Lithur, Minister of Gender, Children and Social Protection, and other high profiled personalities.

Dr Rosina Acheampong, an educationist and former headmistress of Wesley Girls High School, was adjudged the Legendary Woman of the Year, while Ms Esther Cobbah, received Corporate Woman of the Year award.

The rest were Dr Afisah Zakariah, Outstanding Female Doctor; Ms Esi Yankah, Promising Lady; Ms Doreen Andoh, Radio Presenter of the Year; Akosua Agyapong, Outstanding Female Entertainer and Mrs Patience Baffoe-Bonnie, Outstanding Prisons Service Personnel.