Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin has constituted a 9 member committee to probe the circumstances leading to the revocation of the banking licenses of UniBank and UTBank by the Bank of Ghana.

The committee which is chaired by the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei Owusu is expected to begin work during the recess.

It will subsequently report to the plenary with recommendations upon the resumption of the House in May.

The members include Joseph Osei-Owusu (Chairperson), Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Joe Ghartey, Patrick Yaw Boamah, Samuel Atta-Akyea, James Klutse Avedzi, Cassiel Ato Forson, Isaac Adongo and Elizabeth Ofosu-Adjare.

Speaker of Parliament, last week clashed with Majority Leader over the admission of the petition by the founder of UniBank, Dr. Kwabena Dufour, and CEO of UT Bank, Prince Kofi Amoabeng with the Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu questioning the basis of admitting the petition.

The Speaker announcing the composition of the committee justified its decision to admit the two petitions insisting it does not contravene the House’s standing orders.

He also argued that Parliament has the authority to enquire into any matter deem to require the attention of the House.