Albert Dwumfour elected GJA President

Albert Kwabena Dwumfour has won a hotly contested presidency of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) on Friday.

The Group Head of Corporate Affairs at the Tobinco Group and incumbent National Organising Secretary beat Dave Agbenu, the Editor of Ghanaian Times and former General Secretary of the Association and Gayheart Edem Mensah, a journalist and communication consultant.

Mr Dwumfour polled 233 votes, while Mr Edem Mensah got 181 votes, with Mr Agbenu polling 142.

Out of the total of 556 valid votes cast, three votes were rejected.

Incumbent Kofi Yeboah beat Adom FM’s Akwasi Agyemeng with 348 votes against 208 votes to retain the General Secretary position.

Dominic Hlordzi of GTV won the Organising Secretary position with 300 votes.

He defeated his contender Mary Mensah, current Foreign and Supplements Editor of the Daily Graphic, who obtained 255 votes.

Mary Mensah, the longtime crime reporter for Daily Graphic, was the Public Affairs officer for the GJA, a position she held for two terms until now.

Rebecca Ekpe from the GBC is the newly elected GJA Public Affairs Officer after beating Caesar Abagali of the Ghana News Agency in the Wa office.

The Vice President and Treasurer positions were the only unopposed positions that now have Linda Asante Agyei and Audrey Dekalu occupying such positions, respectively.

Over 800 members of the Ghana Journalists Association were expected to cast their ballots on Friday to elect their new executives. However, a total of 556 votes were cast.