GJA President Affail Monney

The Elections Committee of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) has announced that its regional and national elections will be held at the same time on Friday, June 24, 2022, at all designated polling centres across the country.

GJA in a statement on Thursday said the final date for the elections was settled after a successful resolution of petitions submitted before the GJA Elections Adjudication Committee.

“It is anticipated that the elections will be held at both the national and regional level on Friday, June 24, 2022 and the results declared that same day,” GJA noted.

The Associated noted that the election process will begin with the publication of the GJA register in the national dailies on Monday, May 9, 2022.

“A copy of this list will be circulated to all Regional Branches, Chapters and media houses at least (30) calendar days before the election.

“This will be followed by an engagement with officials of the Electoral Commission of Ghana to discuss the entire Election and Electoral Processes,” the statement said.

Meanwhile, a vetting panel has been constituted to commence processes toward the vetting of candidates.

Members of the panel are; Col. M’bawine Atintande (rtd) as Chairman, Osei Kwadwo Adow Esq- Member, Vicky Wireko-Andoh – Member, Doris Adabasu Kuwornu – Member, Dr. Ebo Afful – Member and Peter Martey Agbeko as Secretary.

“In the meantime, the Vetting of Candidates by the Panel set up by the Election Committee has begun its formative work and will come up with Rules of Procedure for the activity. This will be published shortly,” the Association said.

GJA to hold regional and national elections on June 24

The list of polling centres and a detailed calendar of activities are to be advertised in the media in the coming days.

The Election Committee is also in the process of setting up a platform to facilitate the campaigning process by the candidates.

GJA will introduce successful candidates to members of the Association the week after the elections.

“The Swearing in of the National and Regional Executives will be held on Thursday, June 30, 2022.”