The governing New Patriotic Party says it has put in place adequate measures to prevent a divided front at the constituency level ahead of the December general elections.

In a bid to prevent party votes from being split into two or more, the NPP will make all aspiring Members of Parliament sign a declaration not to run as independent candidates should they fail to win the primaries.

Speaking on JoyNews’ PM Express programme on Tuesday, National Organiser of the NPP, Sammi Awuku said the declaration includes a clause that allows the party to stop any aspirant which would seek to flout his undertaking.

He said all aspirants must support whoever is elected by delegates to represent the party in the parliamentary elections.

“Once you decide to go unopposed, it means you do not want to be in the domain of the party,” Mr. Awuku said.

The Nii Noi Nortey factor

The NPP in the 2016 general elections suffered a loss in the Klottey Korle constituency after a losing aspirant in their primaries, Nii Noi Nortey contested as an independent candidate.

Mr. Nortey lost to Philip Addison and disgruntled by the loss went out on his own.

How NPP plans to stop losing aspirants in primaries from running as independent candidates
Nii Noi Nortey lost in the NPP’s primaries in the lead up to 2016 general elections

Many party supporters blamed the NPP’s loss on Nii Noi Nortey who they accused of ruining the party’s chances at the polls.

A request by the repentant Nii Noi Nortey to rejoin the party has been put on hold.

According to General Secretary of the NPP, John Boadu, the National Executive Council of the party intends to revisit the request after party’s April 25 parliamentary primaries.