The National Democratic Congress (NDC) will on Thursday hold a vigil in memory of persons who lost their lives as a result of the violence that ensued during the 2020 general elections.

The event will be held at the Town Council line, between Zongo Junction and Radio Gold in the Ablekuma Central Constituency.

According to the party, the vigil dubbed, “Martyrs of the 4th Republic” will commence at 6pm and all should “be part of this event as we all pray for the souls of the departed.”

Activities lined up include Quran recitations, Christian and traditional prayers for the dead.

The deceased are Zakaria Samira, Ibrahim Abass, Abdallah Ayaric, Samata Zakaria, Fuseini Musah, Emmanuel Dompreh, Marteki Rita Otoo and Taajudeen Alhassan Mohammed.

Thirty-year-old Ibrahim Abass died at the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital where he was receiving treatment for a gunshot wound. He was a victim of the shooting incident that occurred in the Ablekuma Central Constituency during the j2020 general elections.

He and four other persons, including a Police officer, were shot at the collation centre at the Odorkor Police Church.

In the Ododiodoo Constituency, a 15-year-old girl lost her life as a result of a scuffle. Again, two deaths were recorded at the Techiman South collation centre. Eight persons sustained injuries in the locality according to Director-General of the CID COP Isaac Ken Yeboah.

Meanwhile, the National Chairman of the party, Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo, General Secretary, Johnson Asiedu Nketia and the leadership of Parliament are among those expected to participate in the vigil.

Since the demise of these individuals, several individuals and groups, including former President John Mahama, National Peace Council, United Nations (UN) have called on government to investigate incidents of electoral violence recorded last year.

Led by Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, 6 NDC MPs, made up of Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak, Bawku Central MP, Mahama Ayariga, Tamale South MP Alhassan Suhuyini, and Builsa North MP James Agalga filed a motion urging Parliament to investigate circumstances leading to some violence and subsequent deaths during the 2020 general elections.

Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery also pledged to deal with persons found culpable in the electoral violence that occurred during the December polls.

Following the polls, the Criminal Investigations Department said it is still conducting investigations to unravel persons behind the shooting which led to death of two individuals at the Techiman South Collation Centre.

The accused, Collins Kwaku alias ‘Kola’ was arraigned on 6 counts including causing harm, possession of firearms without lawful authority and using offensive weapons without legal authority.

NULL Invalid API key or channelobject(stdClass)#8587 (1) { ["error"]=> object(stdClass)#8561 (3) { ["code"]=> int(403) ["message"]=> string(117) "The request cannot be completed because you have exceeded your quota." ["errors"]=> array(1) { [0]=> object(stdClass)#8583 (3) { ["message"]=> string(117) "The request cannot be completed because you have exceeded your quota." ["domain"]=> string(13) "youtube.quota" ["reason"]=> string(13) "quotaExceeded" } } } }